Four truths and a secret about #MyWritingProcess

Thank you Sabrina Sol for including me in this blog tour!

1) What am I working on? Right now, I’m dividing my writing time between two projects. The first is another novella in the Maison Domine series, featuring Evan and Ellie–two characters you meet in Surrender to Fire. The second is a super secret project that I’m working on with a writing buddy. We’ll share details as things get moving!

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre? Each book, I want to do something that not only makes me uncomfortable (trying out a new plot device, writing a character who is challenging, setting a book in a new location) but something that pushes the reader to think differently about love and sexuality–whether its writing lesbian love or wax play.
3) Why do I write what I do? I write romance because love is beautiful and every story I read or write lets me fall in love all over again–and reminds me just how lucky I am to have found my One. I write delicious, dirty erotic romance because sex is beautiful, too. It’s a very physical expression not just of how much we love each other, but of how much we value our own pleasure.

(/steps onto  soap box) We should not be ashamed of our bodies or our desires–so long as they’re not dangerous and are consensual–and for too long sexuality, especially female or fringe, has been cast in a negative light. Erotic romance is my small way of pushing back against those ridiculous cultural norms (/jumps off soap box)

4) How does your writing process work? I spend a looooong time mulling over the characters and plot. When I get a new idea, I sketch out what I think will be the three turning points. I’ll write down basics about the characters–names, what they look like, their careers, maybe their favorite musical artists or where they grew up. Then I let it stew. Over the next days or weeks, the story grows in complexity as the backstories and goal/motivation/conflict of my characters interweaves for maximum conflict and emotional impact.

For a long time, I was a pantser, but thinking about it now gives me anxiety! I like knowing more about my characters and direction before I write. Usually, after the first big chunk of the book (Act I, most often) I tweak my plan and write the next chunk. So while I don’t always stick to the initial roadmap, it’s nice having it to fall back on in case of writer’s block. It’s hard to not know what to write if you have a plan for what’s happening next!

Don’t forget to visit Kate Davies next week in the My Writing Process blog tour!

One response to “Four truths and a secret about #MyWritingProcess

  1. Enjoyed reading your writing process! Right with you about feminine sexuality.