Lori Toland Visits the ‘Verse: Dangerous Submission blog tour and giveaway

Age 18+ — Adults Only

Cover_DangerousSubmission

British Agent Drake Steele never thought when he was hired on at the Serious Organised Crime Agency that his job would involve spanking a co-worker. But when the colleague is Lord Robbie Covington, the sexy red-headed computer hacker for SOCA and MI-6, Drake can’t agree fast enough to pop Robbie’s cherry and pull him into the sensual world of BDSM.

Now they are caught up in a web of lies as they pose as members of the jet-setting crowd. Drake and Robbie have to race against the clock to stop a weapons haul that could threaten the safety of all Europe. As their covers begin to fade and danger is closing in, protecting Robbie is Drake’s most important task, but neither man is ready for the moment when their hearts are put on the line.

Lori will be awarding a $50 Amazon, ARe, BN or Loose Id gift certificate (winner’s choice) to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour. See a full list of tour stops here.

Interview

Skylar: Who are some of your favorite romance authors?
Lori: I love Johanna Lindsey, Mary Calmes, RJ Scott, Emily Cale, Kele Moon, Jay Starre, Jessica Freely, Kay Berrisford, JA Rock and Lisa Henry. I could go on for a very long time.

Skylar: Do you have any unusual writing routines?
Lori: I can write anywhere, at any time so there is nothing usual about my writing routine, other than I’ve adapted to writing anywhere. I am trying to write each scene one at a time until it’s done. I do get interrupted. Dangerous Submission was written like that, where I stuck with a scene, not letting anything interrupt me for anything. I think it worked very well.

Skylar: What is your favorite quote, and why?
Lori: I’ve always loved one quote from Star Trek: The Next Generation that Picard says during Season 7 when he’s connected to Dr. Crusher. He talks about leadership and how leaders don’t always know for sure we are making the right decision but we have to keep the appearance of confidence. I took that with me into my business and it’s served me well in rough times.
Skylar: Captain Picard was full of awesome wisdom–Patrick Stewart is a true leader on and off screen!

Skylar: Who is your favorite character from one of your own stories, and why?
Lori: I have to choose one? Each time I write a book, I fall in love with the characters. I do really love Drake and Tony, also Stefan. I think if I had to choose, it would Tony for sure because even though I intensely disliked Bradley in The Long Con, I adored Tony. He kept me writing through the whole book.

Skylar: What’s the best writing tip you’ve ever been given?
Lori: Never give up. Don’t stop writing for anything, not matter how many times you hear no. If you put your words on paper enough times and keep dedicated to learning your craft, you will succeed. All you need is a great idea.

Skylar: If you get writer’s block, how do you get around it?
Lori: If I have writer’s block, it means my story has a problem with it so I back up and find out where the problem is inside the manuscript. It’s never “my muse is on vacation.” I have many muses though. Their names are Tony, Drake, Stefan… I could go on 😉

Skylar: What’s the biggest writing challenge you’ve ever taken on?
Lori: I think The Long Con was very difficult. I was at a crossroads in my career and in my life when I started writing that. The few scenes I started with were written in some of my most painful and darkest hours but once I put it on paper, I could move on. I did very quickly start on Dangerous Submission and with that book, I really felt like I broke free and found my voice. So yes, I think letting go of the past and moving on to the next book was my greatest writing challenge and I think I did that.

Excerpt

As we reached the edge of the crowd surrounding the presentation area, a blond gentleman stepped in front of us. “Robbie Covington, it’s been quite some time since you’ve been to Prague,” he said in accented English.

“Joseph!” Robbie exclaimed and widened his eyes. “I’m surprised to see you here.”

Joseph pulled Robbie loose from my hold and hugged him hard. “I can’t believe you’re here.” Joseph grinned. “You said the last time we talked it would be a couple years before you could come here. Why didn’t you ring me to let me know you’d be in town?”

“I didn’t know until the last minute,” Robbie said as he pulled away and smiled. “It was a surprise.”

When they separated, the thick gold-and-diamond bracelets surrounding Joseph’s wrists disappeared beneath his sleeves again. They proclaimed him a slave, most likely to the dark-haired man standing right behind him.

“I apologize for my slave,” he said. “But he was so eager to see his old schoolmate again, he forgot his manners completely. I’m Erich.”

“Nice to meet you. I’m Drake Steele.” I shook his proffered hand as the other men separated.

Joseph dropped his gaze. “I’m sorry to have embarrassed you, Sir.”

Robbie opened his mouth, no doubt to give Erich a piece of his mind for being high-handed. Gripping his elbow to stop him, I sighed indulgently and then pulled him back to my side. “It seems we both have insolent subs. I’ll punish him later,” I said with a chuckle.

Joseph’s dom smirked. “I think my sub needs it now, or he’ll never behave properly tonight. Care to watch?”

CEO by day, erotic romance writer by night, Lori Toland lives in Orlando where the summers are hot but the romance between her characters is even hotter. Writing since the tender age of 13, Lori somehow finds time to play video games and watch movies while taking care of her beloved cats and a husband who will forever be her hero.

Find Lori online:
Website
Twitter
Facebook

Purchase Dangerous Submission

Download a free short story from Lori and Loose Id: English Chaps (Sequel to The Long Con)

13 responses to “Lori Toland Visits the ‘Verse: Dangerous Submission blog tour and giveaway

  1. Mary Preston

    Being able to write anywhere would be invaluable to a writer I would think.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  2. Thank you for hosting today

  3. I loved reading your interview. Thanks for sharing with us!

  4. Rita Wray

    Nice interview, thank you.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  5. That’s actually a really good idea with how to deal with writers block. Thank you for sharing! I will have to use that advice in the future.

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

  6. That’s fascinating, that Lori disliked Bradley so much! Fun interview…

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  7. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us, especially the encoragement to potential authors never to give us

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  8. Penumbra

    Nice excerpt 🙂

    penumbrareads@gmail.com

  9. Catherine

    “Drake Steele” is such a perfect name for a spy!
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  10. I really enjoyed the interview.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  11. I like your thoughts that if you get writer’s block it means there is something wrong with the story so you go back and find the problem. Great tip 🙂
    June
    manning_J2004 at yahoo dot com

  12. Interesting writer’s block tip. Never heard that before.

    amzpar[at]gmail[dot]com

  13. Thank you for having me by!