I don’t feel bad about myself, and you can’t make me.

Im-not-perfect-but-I

I’m interrupting my regularly scheduled Writing Wednesday post because, in the wake of the RT Conference, this had to be said–I LOVE WOMEN ROMANCE READERS because body shame is not part (as far as I have experienced) of the social landscape.

I hail from Los Angeles, which–though beautiful when not smoggy–is incredibly superficial. The culture can become this insidious earworm whispering you’re not skinny enough or blonde enough or tan enough or accomplished enough, and even if no one says any of that out loud, in many ways it’s become embedded in every line of the city.

Escaping that for four days and instead being surrounded by women who value WORDS and LOVE and CONVERSATION was eye-opening.

Sure, I could stand to lose weight. My teeth are not blindingly white, and I have split ends. But, if those things matter more to you than character or sitting around unselfconsciously drinking wine, then I don’t have space for you in my life. And I don’t feel guilty for being imperfect–so sue me.

2 responses to “I don’t feel bad about myself, and you can’t make me.

  1. Hear, hear, Skylar! Well said ๐Ÿ™‚ Great seeing you at RT 2013

  2. I totally agree Skylar. I also live in the LA area and see this daily. I have never been a size 5 or smaller, and I accepted my size 12 or 14 or 16 body a long time ago. I could care less what an author looks like. As long as she or he is writing books I love, it’s all to the good. ๐Ÿ™‚