The Next Big Thing: A Love Worth Living

The wonderful Jen Bernard tagged me last week for The Next Big Thing!
***
What is your working title of your book?
A Love Worth Living
 
Where did the idea come from for the book?
I wanted to write a love story between a less Alpha, emotionally savvy man and a woman who’d spent her life shutting everyone out. Oh, yeah, and I wanted to torture my characters a bit before letting them fall in love.
 
What genre does your book fall under?
 Contemporary romance–yeah, this is a shift for me.
 
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Tough question! For David, I’d choose a more blonde Arthur Darvill, since he plays sweet-but-strong so well. My heroine, Carrie, would actually be a perfect fit for Karen Gillan (with an American accent) or Felicia Day! The funniest thing is that I didn’t start watching Doctor Who until about a year after I finished this first draft!
 
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
David is determined to show Carrie that life–love–is worth living. But when she has to choose between letting go of David or her fears, will she be brave enough to choose him?
 
Will your book be self-published or e-published?
E-published!
 
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
The first draft was the easy part. That took about six weeks, but the editing took forever!
 
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
That’s a tough one. I’d say Suzanne Brockmann’s Heartthrob. There’s one scene where the heroine was slipped a drug, and the hero has to comfort her through that crazy trip. It reminds me of the way David steadfastly supports Carrie.
 
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I wanted to step into a new genre, and write something short, sweet, and emotional. It turned into something so much bigger!
 
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
My heroine, Carrie, chose to pursue a career in forensic anthropology because she was driven to help victims’ families find closure.
***
Looking for The Next Big Thing? Head over to visit Heather Lire!
 

Comments are closed.