Guest blog: Rae Summers

Today we have Rae Summers in the skylarverse, who has kindly agreed to answer some of our most burning questions:

Why/how did you start writing romance?

A friend I met on a writing course read a scene I’d written and said “you have a great voice for romance” so I went out and bought an armful of romance novels. The rest, as they say, is history. It was like coming home. I love romance, and I love romance writers and readers, and the amazing community spirit between them.

Who are some of your favorite romance authors?
In category romance I love Kelly Hunter, Liz Fielding and India Grey. Julie Cohen writes lovely quirky mainstream romances. And then there’s Twilight. Need I say more?

What inspires you? Movies, music, other authors, etc?
Absolutely everything inspires me. I get ideas from all sorts of unusual places. I even had an idea for an entire novel while jolting up and down in the back of a broken down minibus on a badly potholed Mozambican road (which I have yet to write!). My novella Let’s Misbehave owes its existence to the Cole Porter song of the same name. The only thing that doesn’t inspire me much is reading other writers’ work – mostly because I end up wailing “I’ll never be that good!” (Crows of doubt, shoo!)

Do you have any unusual writing routines?
For me, writing is sadly still the unusual routine, since I have a day job in television advertising (seriously not as glamorous as you might think!) and two young childen. I try to write for an hour every morning before the kids wake up, which means I write as quietly as possible so I don’t wake them!

Do you have a favorite place to write?
I write at a very ordinary wooden desk in a corner of my bedroom, so naturally I spend a good deal of time fantasising about where I would write given half a chance. My favourite place would definitely be a bright and airy room with an amazing view of the sea – and the house would be on a Greek island! Who wouldn’t want that inspiration every day?

What do you consider the most challenging about writing?
Right now the most challenging thing is TIME. There are never enough hours in the day to write, promote, catch up with writing friends. And of course read.

What do you do to set the “writing mood”?
Give myself a strict talking to! I tend to procrastinate, so I have to force myself just to it down and write. Anyone need any dishes done before I do?

What are you working on at the moment?
I’m revising my next 1920s novella, An Innocent Abroad, which is set on the Italian Amalfi coast. After that, I really need to buckle down and write the next story which I’ve already plotted out. It’s also set in the 1920s, in Cambridge, England, and it’s (very) loosely based on episodes from the life of poet Rupert Brooke.

What is your favorite quote and why?
Currently my fave line is from Joseph Campbell: Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls.

And for your reading pleasure, here’s a snippet from Rae’s novella, LET’S MISBEHAVE

Gabrielle is the quintessential Flapper, a wild child who turns her back on home and a resentful and unloving mother to become a nightclub singer. She wants nothing more from life than freedom and pleasure.

Sebastian is a dutiful son, following in his father’s footsteps and on the verge of marrying a suitable bride. But as the Twenties roar to their conclusion, he finds himself torn between duty and the urge to indulge his adventurous streak.

From the moment Gabrielle and Sebastian meet, the tension between them simmers. When he rescues her from a boorish suitor, Gabrielle discovers a kindred spirit beneath Sebastian’s serious demeanor, and she sets out to seduce him into one last passionate fling before he settles for a loveless marriage.

But the fire that burns between them threatens to consume her. Will Gabrielle survive falling in love with the one man she cannot have?

Let’s Misbehave is available from:

The Wild Rose Press
Amazon
All Romance eBooks

You can follow Rae’s blog HERE

3 responses to “Guest blog: Rae Summers

  1. Great interview……Love the quote and always imagine anyone working in TV has a great job….definately putting your book on my to buy list

  2. Thanks, Abigail. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. I guess the grass is always greener. I think there are so many exciting jobs out there that way eclipse television advertising!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention I'm being interviewed today at the Skylarverse. Come find out about my dream writing space. -- Topsy.com