52 Weeks of Organizing: Week 1

My writing desk

This is the year I get my $#!7 together. I’m focusing on four aspects of life that need to be organized: writing, health, home, and creativity.

WRITING: Check out my ROW80 page to keep up with my writing goal of 20 min/day. This week hasn’t been a great success, but I DID finish the novella that had plagued me for all of December. Now on to edits, which means that I’ll be modifying my goals.

HEALTH: Do a workout (yoga, tai chi, pilates) four to five times a week. Continue eating gluten-free. Continue eliminating processed foods.

HOME: Laura from “I’m an Organizing Junkie” is going a weekly tutorial/walk-through to help us get organized. This week, she asked:

1.  Do you have your list written? It’s in progress.

2.  What is the first thing on it that you hope to accomplish this week? Clearing out shoes and clothes that need to be donated or stored for winter.

3.  How are you going to make it happen? I’ve already gone through my closet; I still need to sort through my shoes (this afternoon) and stored clothes (tomorrow afternoon)

CREATIVITY: I’m trying my hand at gardening, once again. I have seed starter pots, seeds, and soil. This afternoon, I’ll start potting them. I have a notoriously brown thumb, but I’d really like to start growing herbs and veggies at home.

How are your 2011 goals going?

2 responses to “52 Weeks of Organizing: Week 1

  1. I like goals so much better than resolutions!

    I’m stopping over from Org. Junkie to check out how everyone did and get some ideas for my list! 🙂

    I’d love to get rid of some of my husband’s shoes. I’m not nearly as big a shoe hoarder as he is! hehehe

  2. I saved strawberry containers and apple containers from Costco to make mini-greenhouses. I read somewhere or listened to a podcast to start your seeds in little greenhouses like that and sit them outside, make sure they are damp and they will grow! Something about the natural cycle of cold to warm? Anyway I am going to try it. Good luck with yours.