WIP Update and sample

Ok, I’m still working on the same list from last week, with a focus on “Violet.” I’m up to 18k now, and I’m almost done with it! Of course, I’ll need to go through edits, but the first and third acts are cleaned up already, so it’s really just the second act that’ll need reworking.

And, while I’m on vacation, I’ll need to start tackling those Maison Domine III edits–ugh! My goal is to up the word count to 60k (right now it’s at 50k-ish). It’s also REALLY rough because I wrote it for NaNo, and my internal editor  took a month-long vacation there. I’m a little intimidated, to be honest.

Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t lose my mind 🙂

Excerpt from “Violet”:

I dreamed in flashes of color, of shades I couldn’t name while awake, of cerulean and beryl and crimson and aubergine. Then purple, so deep and vivid I drowned in it. They disappeared as suddenly as they’d snuck up, leaving miles and miles of white in their wake. I took a few experimental steps, exploring this vast space, before its size swallowed me and I knew I’d never escape. I screamed but no sound came out. Without other options I continued to walk, hoping at some point I’d find the end or the edge or the wall, and a way out.

Comments are closed.