Wednesday: What I’m Reading

This week, I’m straying from my normal fiction to read Pleasure Healing. I know it sounds like dirty good fun, but it’s actually about applying spa principles of relaxation to your everyday life. Yesterday, I read about proper breathing (important in yoga, tai chi, and relaxation), mindfulness (being actively aware of your actions), and meditation.

The past two years have been rough for me–very high on the stress–and it’s starting to affect my health. Instead of relying on doctors, for whom the immediate instinct seems to be prescribing medication, I’m giving this path a shot.

And wouldn’t you know it, but that deep breathing works wonders for creating a calm mind. I think I’m hooked. Now I just need to work these principles into my daily routine to insure that I practice them regularly.

I’ll keep you updated.

Comments are closed.