Doing it “Doggy Style”: Interviewing Ashley Ladd

When author Ashley Ladd approached me about blogging, she wanted to caution me that her work was steamy. *evil laugh* I think she’ll be right at home here.

With books from Total-E-Bound, Ellora’s Cave, and New Concepts publishing, there is never a shortage of Ashley Ladd books. Her most recent release, “Doggy Style”, is a M/M anthology story for Total-E-Bound’s Summer Seductions. Whether you want a hot M/F, a boundary-pushing M/M, or a sheet-burning MMF, Ashley’s got what you need.

AND she agreed to let me interview her!

***

Skylar: What sparked your interest in switching from MF romances to MM?

Ashley: I haven’t totally switched. I also write MM and MMF. I eased into it, writing MF, then MMF, then some MM. People are people. I have a gay friend at work and he’s one of the nicest, funniest, and most fun people I know. He’s been in a loving, committed relationship for at least twenty years. I focus on the relationship between the people.

S: When you are creating a new story, what comes to you first? (i.e. characters, plot, snippets of dialogue, etc)

A: It used to be the plot or something that happened. Now, characters are more and more driving my stories. But not always. It just depends. Sometimes ideas pop into my head.

S: Did you receive any backlash or support for switching to a genre (MM) that is a less traditional romance?

A: Unfortunately, when I began writing spicy MF romance I did. Some critique partners no longer wanted to critique with me. One barely talks to me anymore, even as a friend. No readers have said anything to me, however.

S: Last November, California passed Proposition 8, which repealed an earlier law allowing gay marriage. Did you follow that coverage at all, and if so, what was your reaction? (Note: If you haven’t been able to follow, see my earlier blog about Proposition 8)

A: I’m sad. I know I go against my church’s stand, but I feel that people are people. I also believe we’re all created different. There are cases where people are born with both male and female parts. If that happens surely people can experience feelings different than what other people expect. Forcing somebody to be something they’re not isn’t fair and it doesn’t work anyway. It’s not fair for one person to force their beliefs on another.

S: You recently blogged about buying sex toys and books for research purposes *applause!*. If you were to write those off on your taxes and got audited, how would the meeting with your IRS caseworker go?

A: Oh boy! I think I’m too chicken to try, truth be told. But if I did (and I would only do it after I researched to see if it’s legal – I’m told I’m anal that way and my boss told me only yesterday that I’m a rule follower – he indicated perhaps too much so – little does he know <EG>) it would probably be funny. In fact, I think you just gave me a scene for one of my future books. Thanks!

S: What is the most common question you get from readers?

A: What is different between M/M and M/F romance and why do I write M/M.

S: Some authors say they write for other writers, some for readers, and some for themselves. Do you fall into one or any of those categories?

A: I used to think I wrote mainly for my readers. But I also write for myself. There have been times depression overwhelmed me or I was having a bad day and I thought about quitting this business. But then I realized I still wanted to write for myself even if I never sought publication again.

S: What is your favorite word?

A: My editor thinks it’s “so”.

S: I’m taking a poll of all interviewed authors on the next questions…

S: What was your favorite childhood book?

A: The Nancy Drew series. Also I devoured biographies of famous people in US history and starting about age 12, I discovered Harlequin and Silhouette romances.

S: What is your least favorite adverb?

A: Quickly or any adverb that weakens the writing. I try to use strong verbs.

***

Thanks for the interview, Ashley! I can’t wait to see what you’ll come out with next, and I’ll be on the lookout for that tax-audit erotica 😉

Comments are closed.